什麼是非統一內存訪問 (NUMA)?

Last Updated: 2022-08-02
4.7
(6
概要NUMA 是 Non-Unified Memory Access 的縮寫,是一種用於多處理的計算機內存設計。在這裡查看 NUMA 的完整介紹。

Definition

NUMA 是一種多處理架構,其中內存分為緊密存儲和遠程存儲,內存訪問時間取決於內存相對於處理器的位置。

在 NUMA 下,處理器訪問本地內存的速度比非本地內存快。 NUMA 的優勢僅限於特定工作負載,尤其是在數據通常與特定任務或用戶密切相關的服務器上。

非統一內存訪問系統是具有多個系統總線的高級服務器平台。這些平台可以在一塊板上使用多個處理器,並且所有處理器都可以訪問主板上的所有內存。

NUMA 架構在邏輯上遵循 SMP(對稱多處理)架構的擴展。與 SMP 相比,NUMA 架構可擴展到更多數量的 CPU。

基本概念

Modern CPUs run much faster than the main memory they use. In the early stages of computing and data processing, the CPU typically runs slower than its memory. The limiting memory access number is the key to extracting high performance from modern computers.

但是,操作系統大小的急劇增加以及在操作系統上運行的應用程序通常會壓倒這些緩存處理改進。沒有 NUMA 的多處理器系統使問題更加嚴重。

NUMA 嘗試通過為每個處理器提供單獨的內存來解決此問題,避免在多個處理器解析相同內存時對性能造成影響。

此外,NUMA 系統包括用於在存儲庫之間移動數據的其他硬件或軟件。這會降低連接到這些銀行的處理器的速度。因此,NUMA 帶來的整體速度提升主要取決於正在運行的任務的性質。

緩存一致性 NUMA (ccNUMA)

幾乎所有 CPU 架構都利用內存訪問中的引用位置和少量稱為緩存的高速非共享內存。

當多個緩存存儲相同的內存位置時,ccNUMA 採用緩存控制器之間的處理器間通信來維護一致的內存映像。因此,當多個處理器嘗試快速且連續地訪問同一內存區域時,ccNUMA 的性能很差。

Supporting NUMA in the operating system tries to reduce the frequency of such access by allocating processors and memory in a NUMA-friendly manner and preventing the scheduling and locking algorithms necessary to make NUMA unfriendly access.

軟件支持

由於 NUMA 極大地影響內存訪問性能,因此需要進行一些軟件優化以允許調度線程和進程訪問其內存數據。

  • Silicon Graphics IRIX 支持 ccNUMA 架構超過 1240 CPU 和 Origin Server 系列。
  • Microsoft Windows 7 以及 Windows Server 2008 R2 增加了對 NUMA 架構的超過 64 個邏輯核心的支持。
  • Java 7 添加了對 NUMA 感知內存分配器和垃圾收集器的支持。
  • Linux 內核的 3.13 版引入了一些策略來將進程放置在內存附近並處理諸如使用大的透明頁面或在進程之間共享內存頁面等情況。新的 sysctl 設置允許啟用或禁用 NUMA 平衡以及配置各種 NUMA 內存平衡參數。
  • OpenSolaris uses groups to model the NUMA architecture.
  • FreeBSD 在 11.0 版中添加了初始 NUMA 相關性和策略配置

Bottom Line!

In short, after going through this page, you will have a better understanding of the definition, basic concept, and work manner of Non-Unified Memory Access. You will also know that NUMA affects memory access performance so some software optimizes to support it.

這篇文章有多大用處?

點擊一顆星來評價它!

平均評分 4.7 / 5. 投票數: 6

至今沒有投票! 成為第一個評價這篇文章的人。

上一篇

如何將最新的 Mac 版 Google Chrome 圖標還原為原始圖標? 總結:NUMA 是 Non-Unified Memory Access 的縮寫,是一種用於多處理的計算機內存設計。在這裡查看完整的介紹...

下一篇

How to Recover Deleted Videos From Mac? 總結:NUMA 是 Non-Unified Memory Access 的縮寫,是一種用於多處理的計算機內存設計。在這裡查看完整的介紹...

關於 Bitwar 數據恢復

3 個步驟從各種數據丟失情況中找回 500 多種已刪除、格式化或丟失的文檔、照片、視頻、音頻、存檔文件。

閱讀更多

熱門文章

    相關文章

What Is Non-Uniform Memory Access (NUMA)?

2020-12-09
4.6
(5)
Summary: NUMA, short for Non-Unified Memory Access, is a computer memory design for multiprocessing. Look here for a full introduction to NUMA.

Definition

NUMA is a multiprocessing architecture where memory is divided into tight and distant storage, and memory access time depends upon the memory location relative to the processor.

Under NUMA, processors access their local memory faster than non-local memory. NUMA’s benefits are limited to specific workloads, especially on servers where data is typically strongly associated with specific tasks or users.

Non-uniform memory access systems are advanced server platforms with multiple system buses. These platforms can use multiple processors on a single board, and all processors have access to all the memory on the motherboard.

The NUMA architectures logically follow in scaling from an SMP (Symmetric Multiprocessing ) architecture. Compared to SMP, NUMA architecture scales to a higher number of CPUs.

Basic Concept

Modern CPUs run much faster than the main memory they use. In the early stages of computing and data processing, the CPU typically runs slower than its memory. Limiting memory access’s number is the key to extracting high performance from modern computers.

However, the sharp increase in the operating system’s size and the applications running on the operating system often overwhelms these cache processing improvements. A multiprocessor system without NUMA makes the problem even worse.

NUMA tries to address this issue by providing separate memory for each processor, avoiding a performance impact when multiple processors resolve the same memory.

Besides, NUMA systems include other hardware or software for moving data between memory banks. This reduces the speed of the processors connected to these banks. Therefore, the overall speed increase due to NUMA depends mostly on the nature of the running task.

Cache Coherent NUMA (ccNUMA)

Almost all CPU architectures take advantage of reference locations in memory access with a small amount of high-speed non-shared memory called caching.

ccNUMA adopts inter-processor communication between cache controllers to maintain consistent memory images when multiple caches store the same memory location. As a result, ccNUMA performs poorly when multiple processors try to quickly and continuously access the same memory area.

Supporting NUMA in the operating system tries to reduce the frequency of such access by allocating processors and memory in a NUMA friendly manner and preventing the scheduling and locking algorithms necessary to make NUMA unfriendly access.

Software Support

Because NUMA greatly influences memory access performance, some software optimization is required to allow scheduling threads and processes to access their memory data.

  • Silicon Graphics IRIX supports the ccNUMA architecture over 1240 CPU and Origin Server Series.
  • Microsoft Windows 7, as well as Windows Server 2008 R2, have increased support for more than 64 logical cores of the NUMA architecture.
  • Java 7 adds support for NUMA-aware memory allocators and garbage collectors.
  • Version 3.13 of the Linux kernel introduced several policies to place processes near memory and handle situations such as using large transparent pages or sharing memory pages between processes. The new sysctl settings allow NUMA balancing to be enabled or disabled and various NUMA memory balancing parameters to be configured.
  • OpenSolaris uses lgroups to model the NUMA architecture.
  • FreeBSD adds Initial NUMA relevance and policy configuration to version 11.0

Bottom Line!

In short, after going through this page, you will have a better understanding of the definition, basic concept, and work manner of Non-Unified Memory Access. You will also know that NUMA affects memory access performance so that some software optimize to support it.

 

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 4.6 / 5. Vote count: 5

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Previous Article

How To Revert Latest Google Chrome Icon for Mac to Original One? Summary: NUMA, short for Non-Unified Memory Access, is a computer memory design for multiprocessing. Look here for a full introduction...

Next Article

How to Recover Deleted Videos From Mac? Summary: NUMA, short for Non-Unified Memory Access, is a computer memory design for multiprocessing. Look here for a full introduction...

About Bitwar Data Recovery

3 Steps to get back 500+ kinds of deleted, formatted or lost documents, photos, videos, audios, archive files from various data loss scenarios.

Learn More

Hot Articles

    Related Articles